The percentage of overweight children in the western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years.Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend.

Throughout the past decade in western countries number of juveniles with excess weight increased by 20%. In this essay I’m going to look at possible causes of this problem and it’s effects. One of the first things we need to take into our conversation is that pupils nowadays spend most of their time playing with gadgets and less playing outside, because modern technologies and games are too attracting. That leads to unhealthy lifestyle and weight gaining, which affects growth of young organism. For example, recently scientists have discovered that watching cartoons or other TV shows may be responsible for the growing epidemic of obesity among preschool children, because they tend not to play outside, run, or do other activities with other kids. Another thing, is bad food habits. Food with more flavours in it seems to be more popular among minors, that’s why they consume and buy it more. Western companies have noticed this trend, that’s why they started changed their production sizes and consistency. As well, carcinogens, preservatives and high levels of sugar in that type of food make human blood insulin rise and drop quickly, so people feel craving for more, they overeat and become overweight easily. For instance, a lot of critics have noticed, that food supplied to western countries has more sugars and its portions are larger compare to Asian food production. To conclude, I consider that it’s unfair to put a risk on small children in order to make more money. Parents need to be more careful to prevent their child from being affected by bad habits, to keep them safe.