Governments around the world spend too much money on treating illnesses and diseases and not enough on health education and prevention. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is often argued that the healthcare budget is heavily allocated to treating an illness with little focus on preventing one. I completely agree with this opinion and governments should emphasize more on the importance of illness prevention and well-being education. This essay will extensively explain the reasons to support my opinion based on real-life examples. To begin with, preventing illness costs considerably less than treating one. The government cover numerous aspects of treatment procedures, such as a wage of healthcare workers and the relevant tools and materials required, which makes the treatment pretty expensive. In marked contrast, prevention a disease cost little or no money at all. For instance, it costs almost 200 $ to treat dental decay in Russia due to expensive filling materials, while it requires minimum financial investment (the cost of toothbrush and toothpaste) to brush their teeth regularly and properly to have healthy teeth. Moreover, advocating disease prevention and investing in health education can be much more cost-effective than covering treatments. In addition, increasing efforts in education and prevention can improve public health status. The most prominent public health issues are shifting from infectious disease to chronic condition, which is largely preventable. According to one recent research, almost 30% of chronic diseases can be avoided if individuals steer clear of risky behaviours, such as smoking, overeating and lack of exercise. For instance, most primary lung cancer can be precluded by limiting one’s tobacco use, Thus, the authorities should endeavour to propagate the idea of a healthy lifestyle as preventive care rather than to introduce advanced treatment as a consolation to people who have health problems due to poor life choices. In a nutshell, I strongly believe that when tackling illnesses, the authority should channel the largest part of the budget to preventive actions rather than on mediation because it can reduce significantly the expenditure on healthcare and lighten the disease burden on society. It also helps to improve people’s living quality and well-being.