Nowadays many people go shopping in their free time. Shopping has replaced many other activities that people used to choose as their hobby. what are the reason for this. Is this a positive or negative development?

The number of men and women spending their leisure time shopping is remarkably rising, making no space for other hobbies, nowadays. This essay will argue that, despite the financial advantages for the companies, it is absolutely worrying that citizens would rather be in a mall instead of enjoying the beautiful nature, outside of the city. In recent years, development in the fashion industry has dramatically improved, resulting in stores moving into high-quality facilities in an accessible areas, preferably next to food courts or a theme park. Consequently, both businesses attract more customers, and even some fashion stores are willing to go the extra mile in pleasing the customers by offering them play-area for young children which attracts more families. Primark for example is a very popular clothing and make-up in The UK, where they recently introduced a café as part of their concept. The main benefit of this trend is that people can more easily socialize while shopping at a time when face-to-face interactions are declining due to covid-19 pandemic. However, a healthy lifestyle consists of more than a social life and an unlimited intake of fast food. Firstly, almost 90% of the cuisine they serve in the shopping centre restaurants is unhealthy, as it contains a high amount of sugar and salt. Another problem related to the eagerness of shopping, is the decrease in people's experience nature. Psychologists actually recommend that at least once a week, everyone should go out of the city to participate in activities such as hiking or biking, in order to reduce the level of everyday stress and teach children from a young age to appreciate nature. In conclusion, In my opinion, despite the positive side of promoting social gathering, nature is more beneficial for physical and mental health, in addition to being inexpensive.