Cycling is a healthier and more environmentally friendly means of transport. Nevertheless, cycling is getting less popular. What are the reasons of this trend? What can be done to make cycling more popular?

It is no doubt that cycling can boost the healthiness of people and is one of the best modes of environmentally friendly transport. However, it is seen that day by day, the popularity among people cycling is getting declined. This essay will discuss the reasons for such a trend and the remedial actions which can be taken to avoid it. The first reason the cycling is yet to become popular is the lifestyle. People living today have very limited time to fulfil their duties so time matters a lot to them. Hence, many tend to use either private or public transportation as the primary mode of transportation. Another significant issue is the lack of infrastructure for cyclists. Although some parts of the countries have provided facilities dedicated to cyclists, it is much to develop. As a result of it, cyclists and motor traffic have to share the roads which are unsafe for bicycle users. Hence many want to stay on the safe side. To overcome this and make cycling more popular, it is essential to demotivate the use of motor vehicles. One way to do this is to implement additional charges for using vehicles. Measures such as implementing charges for entering and parking in cities, additional taxes for fuel and for the amount of usage will help and push users of motor vehicles to use of bicycles. Another implementation would be to enhance public awareness on the matters such as air pollution and associated health issues. Since many are health conscious these days, there will be an improvement in using cycles. In conclusion, it is yet to become cycling popular among society due to various reasons and need to implement strategies immediately to overcome it. These measures will improve the popularity of cycling to make people healthier while making cycling the best environmentally friendly mode of transport.