Television has two roles: to inform and to entertain people. Explain which of these roles you see as more important. To what extent do you think that TV today performs each of these roles in an effective way? Support your point of view with details from your own experiences, observations or reading.

In terms of the role of television in every household, I definitely believe it is much more important to inform than to entertain people. Firstly, information can help us make better life decisions; secondly, society should follow national regulations. Nevertheless, due to the development of technology, people have been less using television to get messages or amusement through television nowadays. First of all, for making our every life decision, the more knowledge, the better, ranging from education arrangement, and job opportunities, to consumption options, to name but a few. But for knowing more options, people would have blindly followed neighbours' choices. Due to the inventions of mobile phones, we can now access information and learn new things everywhere. The other, television broadcasting is an effective way for governments to announce new policies. Thus, people can know instant news in their countries and be informed about what regulations they should follow to avoid committing a crime. In addition, rather than television can passively learn information from local news authorities or companies, everyone can upload their content on the internet through platforms, like Youtube or Apple podcasts, and share their knowledge and ideas. On top of that, we can now listen to music, watch live sports games or live streaming movies through our computers and mobile phones anytime and no matter where we are. In this condition, we can have much more information to learn from all over the world, leading to fewer people watching television. In conclusion, media technologies - television, mobile phones, and computers - help us can know how many options we have when we are making decisions. That is to say, making different decisions make us become unique individuals, and able to live in the ways that are most suitable to us.