Some children spend hours everyday on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, juveniles spend an enormous amount of time on their internet devices. This is a result of increased affordability, and it is a negative as many adverse effects may arise from such. This essay will give reasons for the above and provide a logical conclusion. There are several reasons why children spend hours daily on their android phones. First, internet devices are cheap and affordable. This ease of affordability coupled with nearness to the source of supply has directly increased their access to these devices. Second, globalization and westernization are other reasons for this trend. This is because, a child may stay glued to his phone in order to keep abreast of global events and updates in all facets of life such as arts, music, entertainment, and education, to mention a few. Again, minors spend quality hours on their gadgets because it is the trend in today's world. For example, research commissioned in the United Kingdom showed that the commonest reason children are sentimentally attached to smartphones is increased availability. As with every habit, spending more than a certain percentage of hours on smartphones on a daily basis has been linked to certain adverse health outcomes. Firstly, there is an increased risk of visual impairment over time. This is because spending so many hours on the phone may lead to progressive retinopathy, a disorder in which there is a gradual but progressive reduction in visual acuity. Secondly, minors may copy indecent lifestyles and inappropriate behaviour from celebrities and other social media influencers which can adversely affect their future. Furthermore, juveniles who are addicted to surfing the internet with their smartphones are at risk of becoming obese, with a lifetime risk of developing metabolic diseases. This is because they spend less time exercising and burning off calories. This happened to my nephew, who felt hanging trousers below the waistline was the norm as he watched a musician do the same online. In conclusion, the development of technology has greatly influenced the behaviour of children. They spend lots of time browsing the internet with their smartphones. A major cause of this is the ease of affordability. This trend, however, is a negative one as its adverse consequences are enormous.