Nowadays, there are many individuals who want to self-employed. Do the advantages outweigh disadvantages?

These days more and more people prefer being solopreneurs instead of having a job as an employee. Although an income from employment is more secure, I opine that an adventure as a self-employee outbalance the drawbacks, because it could be more rewarding, ensuring flexibility and a better work/life balance. On the one hand, everybody knows that a stable job ensures a salary, every month without fail. In the past, individuals dreamed a contract for life, while the phenomenon of job hopping was seen as a drawback within a certain working field. For example, my grandparents worked as blue collars in the FIAT group. This automotive enterprise provided them with long-term contracts with many benefits, which allowed them to build their home and raise their kid with ease. However, they worked 8 hours per day, with little time, or no time at all, to dedicate to their selves and their child. On the other hand, shifting to dynamic employment ensures flexibility and more time for friends and family. For instance, during the COVID breakout many people opted for remote working. In many cases, that experience led many individuals to shift to dynamic employment in order to have a meaningful existence and express their true potential. Managing schedules and the amount of work one can sustain without feeling overwhelmed is beneficial from different points of view, namely mentally and bodily. Many people are suffering for the so-called “burnout”, such as a medical condition which deprives a person, usually professionals (eg. doctors or lawyers etc.) of their energy because they work too much for their bosses. In conclusion, even though being self-employed could be hazardous from an economic point of view, this choice will bring more positive effects because it allows one to be more autonomous and self-aware.