Many people believe that countries should produce food for the whole population and import as little food as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Experts throughout the developed and developing world have debated whether it is necessary for a country to take responsibility for food construction for all national inhabitants and cut down food imports as far as possible. Although it is urgently essential for a country to ensure its food quantity is enough, I disagree that food import should be reduced as much as possible. This essay will analyze the reasons, using examples from the IMF and the Chinese government to demonstrate points. On the one hand, there is no doubt that a nation should apply itself to produce enough food in an attempt to reach all country dwellers' demands for daily diets. As food is one of the basic needs for humans to live, the importance of food production and supply cannot be overstated, especially when a country is suffering from some special periods. For instance, a recent report by the IMF shows that Ukraine, one of the agricultural countries in the world, can always guarantee enough cereals and crop production for their people during the war against Russia. This is the main reason why few people in this country are suffering from staying hungry recently. Therefore, it is conclusively clear that sufficient food production is a necessity for any part of the world. On the other hand, it is unreasonable to minimise food import in this day and age, as it is an important approach to developing the local economy. With the increase in living standards, modern citizens prefer to have some luxurious food, yet the demand for which somewhat cannot be satisfied by merely domestic supply. For that reason, some local companies could grasp this opportunity by importing such foreign food and filling the gap between demand and supply. This has become an effective resource for many countries to generate revenue and boost the economy. For instance, an extensive study by the Chinese government indicates that in China, the yearly demand for the number of lobsters is around 1.5 million while the number of local lobsters is lower than half of it. Under this circumstance, importing lobsters from Australia can perfectly tackle this problem, also bringing about an average 270 million-dollar profit for Chinese merchants every year. Thus, it can be stated beyond doubt that food importing is indispensable since it is likely to satisfy individual requests and benefit economic development. In conclusion, although a nation should try its best to ensure food production, claiming that importing food should be largely reduced is absolutely not a wise option owing to its contributions to both individuals and the economy. It can be predicted that in the future importing food will increasingly grow in importance.