Maintaining public libraries is a waste of money since computer technology can replace their functions. Do you agree or disagree?

In the contemporary,world we have great access to cutting-edge technology. A lot of information has been already converged into digital vaults so a question about the necessity of maintaining public libraries is debatable. I totally disagree that public libraries are a waste of money and they should not exist anymore. Analysing a danger for certain valuable written sources as well as the price of book computerisation will prove this statement. Firstly, despite the post-industrial high tempo of computer development, just around a quarter amount of written data in society is digitalized. For instance, ancient Egyptian manuscripts can not be transferred into digits because they will inevitably harm the original materials. Ditto for some significant XXth centuries books, which can be threatened by an industrial light or lasers in a stage of processing. Hence, it is mandatory to maintain public libraries because they can keep historically important sources. Secondly, the digitalisation of entire written information is extra costly. For example, the modern Chinese cyber-library initiative, launched in 2007 by a ministry of culture, costs more than 1 billion dollars. Moreover, it is time-consuming and will take decades to be accomplished. Therefore, these expenses will outperform ordinary library expenditures on both personnel and facilities. In conclusion, I would like to underline that public libraries should still be open to the public despite the fact that the internet is extremely developed nowadays. Fragile written books and other sources could be placed in jeopardy because of the technological impact of special equipment used for rapid and secure cyber processing. Meanwhile it is also much more expensive to create a comprehensive electronic system instead of continuing to invest in public libraries. It is predicted that in the future people will use more e-books but libraries will remain a public places and a repository for unique readable items.