International tourism has brought enormous benefits to many places. At the same time, there is concern about its impact on local inhabitants and the environment. Do the advantages of international tourism outweigh the advantages?

In the last two decades, there has been an increase in tourism in many Countries around the world. This change, though positive has a few negative impacts on the citizens and the environment of the countries involved. This essay will explain that the boost in the economy of such countries and increased popularity is more beneficial than the increase in crime rate and pollution associated with tourism. It is important to note that many countries have become more popular because they have invested in locations that will be of interest to international visitors. For instance, the City of Calabar is known worldwide for its famous Obudu Cattle ranch, a beautiful, serene environment in the hills of Calabar that welcomes visitors from all over the world. These visitors also learn about the amazing arts and culture of the city when they participated particioate in the yearly carnival. This developement also come with its downsides, for example, an increase in crime rate as local inhabitants can indulge in kidnapping tourists in exchange for large amounts of foreign currency. Also, areas not previously open to visitors will become prone to air and land pollution caused by the large influx of people. Local police can check crime rate by increasing their workforce in these areas, pollution can also be reduced to the minimum by placing signs in these locations. In conclusion, the many benefits of International tourism overshadow the negative effects, which can be eliminated by putting the right checks in place.