Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Selecting a suitable employee for a certain company is a difficult task. Some people believe that the personal information of a candidate will be helpful when filing for a vacancy successfully whilst others think that it might be not so important. This essay will discuss both sides of the argument and provide my own opinion. To commence with, personal information such as hobbies, chores, family background, general responsibilities, etc might be useful when selecting personnel for some kind of job categories. For example, if a candidate has lots of chores, and hobbies much related to social activities he is not suitable for a job where the location is far and isolated from his or her home environment such as rural construction sites, mines, ships, etc. Therefore, there are some advantages to knowing information about the personal life of an interviewee. On the other hand, it is valuable to know the qualifications and experiences gained by the candidate to select for a position correctly because I personally believe that most people give their first priority to their jobs even though they have lots of personal matters. For instance, people living in developing countries respect their job and try to do them better because they have no other option to fulfil their basic needs without a job as well as there is a higher tendency for unemployment in the country. It is possible to select the correct employee only by considering his or her qualification and how they have worked earlier. To conclude, According to my point of view the requirement of knowing personal information depends on the circumstance but qualification and experience are more useful than personal details.