People who read for pleasure in their free time have a better imagination than those who prefer to watch TV. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Reading has been a popular hobby around the world for centuries while recent society prefers to watch TV. Some people believe that TV provides visual images and ideas which they can use to develop their imagination. This essay shows both views and argues that reading is a more effective way to spend their spare time. One of the main roles of a TV show is to keep individuals visually entertained and offer a lot of information in a short time. When people watched TV, for example, common TV programs contained fashionable humor which can make viewers laugh. Furthermore, visual media can improve people’s imagination. By watching TV, they will be able to get indirect experiences through many TV shows such as traveling programs, cooking programs, etc. These visual methods provide a lot of opportunities to promote their imagination. However, many people still believe reading is a more effective way to imagine. When we read, we have to create visual imagery ourselves. If someone reads a novel like Harry Potter, their imagination is constantly at work visualizing all characters, magic spells, and fantastical places with no limitations. The more we read, the more our brain roams all over, free to create all sorts of wonders because our imagination will become more and more powerful. In addition, TV is a passive activity for viewers to sit back effortlessly watch. Conversely, reading demands effort, to keep our minds active. Unlike TV shows, books lead us more deeply into the development and thought processes of characters and the situations in which we are involved. In conclusion, although children may use TV content as a springboard toward creative development in play, it is not enough to overcome the advantages of reading books. Hence, reading keeps people’s minds active and is the best way they can improve strong imaginative skills.