Social media is becoming increasingly popular among st all age groups. However, sharing personal information on social media websites does have risks. Do you think that the advantages of social media outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is true that social media platforms have become popular across the globe thanks to the development of technology. However, many people are quite reluctant to pose their private information on social websites such as Facebook and Instagram. From my point of view, the improvement of social media networks has a positive effect on the whole of society. First of all, the proliferation of digital technology has allowed people to communicate at any time, regardless of place. The introduction of many new types of communication such as email and text messaging, makes it easy for residents when it comes to conversation. For example, the invention of video calling enables people to speak to friends and family face-to-face, rather than having to write to them, regardless of geographical location. As a result, they are able to maintain a relationship with their friends and not wait a long time to receive a reply. Secondly, the development of social networks enables connection among communities around the world. By doing so, no one will be left behind since everyone can regularly update information about impoverished people. For instance, if the community could not have social platforms to access information that relates to the Covid-19 pandemic, they would lack an understanding of the serious dangers caused by this disease. In conclusion, the major reason for creating social media platforms is to help boost people's lives and other benefits. Although some of the cyber-thefts may happen, governments and big corporations will have solutions to combat them, and the positive effect of digital platforms on society should not be overlooked.