In many countries, traditional dress and costumes are considered ef ective ways of maintaining links with the past. How ef ective can traditional costumes be, in this sense? What other ways exist to help citizens connect with a country’s past?

One of the links to our cultural past is the dress and costumes we wear in our day-to-day life. This is also reflected in the traditional dresses of different places.Over the decade there has been a divided opinion on whether costumes are an effective way of maintaining links with the past. In the forthcoming paragraphs, the two viewpoints will be discussed and other ways to connect with the past will be described. To begin with dress and costumes we believe form a very important part of our personality and identity. Undoubtedly wearing traditional costumes helps us in connecting with our rich cultural heritage. It helps to keep our identity intact. For,example the women of north India prefer suits over saree whereas the women of south are inclined to wear saree., Also the everyday clothing we wear helps the next generation to be aware of our roots., However it is well known that dresses of different regions have developed based on the weather conditions, traditional beliefs and professions that were carried out in those regions in past. But as we know today due to profession people are required to move from one place to another., Also formals are required at the office, college and schools. Owing to this the traditional dress and costumes don't fit in today's era and are also inconvenient. Secondly, today's generation wants everything minimal and easy to wear, something that is easily washable and can be maintained easily. Therefore they are drifting to having easier wardrobes.A better way to maintain balance would be to allow for ethnic and traditional wear on special occasions. For instance offices, schools and colleges often make it mandatory to wear ethnic wear on festivals. This ensures connection to our culture is intact. To hammer the last nail, I would like to conclude that though costumes and dresses to help us form a connection with the past, wearing such dresses in everyday life is not possible. There are other ways in which one can connect to our past such as celebrating our festivals, relishing traditional meals with family on weekends etc.