At the present time, the popualtion of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults, compared with the number of older people. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

The composition of the population of any country is an important factor in considering the overall health of the economy. It is no doubt that human capital is a pivotal resource that plays important role in overall development. Some countries have a larger number of young adults compared to older people. This trend offers both positives and negatives and in the subsequent,paragraphs we will discuss both scenarios. To begin, countries which have a larger proportion of young adults compared with older people offer a better opportunity as a whole to grow. They have no dearth of youngsters who are hardworking and eager to grow and learn. They make a significant contribution to the GDP of the country and thereby help in the overall development of the economy. Since the age group is the relatively young pool they are not liable in form of health insurance or pensions that the government is required to pay. Since the liability of social security is lesser, the government can save on a lot of money for other developmental work. Also,it is seen that youth spends a lot in order to ensure a better standard of living and hence spurts growth in the economy. The lifestyles that the rich young fellow in the country opens great markets for several businesses. The finest examples of such economies are India and China. Both countries have young populations and are attractive as a market for products around the world. On the other,hand economies, where greater proportion of people are old,a greater proportion of people are old tend to slow down over time. The reasons for these are simply the effective leadership is lacking, skilled labour required is less and hence such countries are finding it hard to compete on a global scale., Also the ageing population becomes a liability to the public chequer rather than an asset and the development of the countries takes a hit. Although advantages of having an older population are that they help in better transfer of leadership skills and ensure great lessons for the next generation To hammer the last nail, I would like to conclude that having a relatively younger population has several advantages and often outweighs the disadvantages.Efforts must be made to maintain a healthy balance of both the population