The rising levels of congestion and air pollution found in most of the world cities can be attributed directly to the rapidly increasing number of private cars in use. In order to reverse this decline in quality of life in cities, attempts must be made to encourage people to use their cars less and public transport more. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, more and more contemporary attention has been placed on whether citizens should be encouraged to utilize more public transportation systems rather than commuting by their personal vehicles. From my viewpoint, I totally agree with this opinion owing to the following reasons. Firstly, the increasing use of individual cars is considered one of the prime culprits of traffic jams; therefore, encouraging citizens to minimize the use of their own vehicles and turn to public ones is undoubtedly an effective solution. To be more specific, the fact that city dwellers travel by buses or trains helps in saving the space they take up on the streets because these means are able to carry a considerable number of people. In this way, commuters may avoid exhaustion and waste of time on streets during rush hours. Take Singapore as an example: resulting in the government imposing tough measures to keep cars off the roads and investing in public transport systems, the image of long lines of vehicles crawling along the streets is occasionally seen in this country. Secondly, promoting the use of public transit is also beneficial to addressing the issue of air pollution, especially in major cities. In fact, a high density of automobiles on streets means that a tremendous amount of exhaust fumes is emitted into the atmosphere, which leads to severe respiratory problems for urbanites including asthma and lung cancer. Alternatively, if people choose metros or buses to travel, they consequently put a cap on harmful emissions as there will be a great reduction in the number of vehicles flowing on the roads. To conclude, based on the positive outcomes that public transport produces in terms of mitigating traffic jams and contamination of air, I firmly believe that authorities should take steps to persuade their citizens to change from private to public means of transportation.