Nowadays, the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology. In what ways has technology affected the type of relationship people make? Has this become a positive or negative development?

Nowadys, methods of communication has changed as a result of advancement in tecchnology. For instance, intending friends, friends and family members now reach out to each other via social media platforms like Facebook, Instagram, WhatsApp and Telegram. This development, though positive, has a lot of negative sides some of which include dishonesty among friends and intending friends and breach in communication among family members and long time friends. To start with, family members no longer see the need to travel back to their homes because communication has been made easier on Social media platforms. For example, John doesnt see the need travel 2000 miles fo Thanksgiving because he speaks with his parents every day and even makes video calls via WhatApp. This could result in a breach in his relationship with his parents and siblings as physical contact is much different from calls, texts and video calls. Secondly, in recent times, a of lot of relationships begin on Social media platforms, many individuals who spark up a relationship in this way are not honest. For example, a kidnapper can send a friend request on Facebook to an unsuspecting lady and when they finally meet, she can be murdered or kidnapped. From another view point, a lot of people, especially ladies claim to be who they are not on Social media as they wear borrowed clothes in the pictures they post and take postures in fine buldings that do not belong to them. This is another negative effect of technology on relationships. In summary, advancement in technology has made so many negative impacts on the society and even family life. Like the saying goes "too much of anything is bad" therefore, communication on Social media platforms should be utilized in moderation. People should endeavour to interact physically like going on dates and going to the movies, These would improve our relationships more, than just relating via our phones or laptops.