In some parts of the world traditional festivals and celebrations have disappeared or are disappearing. What do you think are the causes of this development and what measures could be taken to solve it?

Many indigenous celebrations are being forgotten by the present generation. The main reason for this is the lack of awareness about these traditions among the younger generation. It is the duty of the authorized parties to take necessary actions to teach the value of these festivals to children. Children nowadays are addicted to the sophisticated technology-based lifestyle and have fewer chances to learn about their own ethnic values. School syllabus is also becoming increasingly advanced and pays less attention to teaching children about history and traditions. On the other hand, children do not spend enough quality time with their grandparents to learn about these cultural values. For example, research conducted by a University in England revealed that children who spend time with their grandparents score better in history subjects compared to children who are separated from their older relatives. As such educating children about the significance of traditional festivals is vital as they are the link to pass this inheritance to the next generation. In light of this understanding, when the celebration season comes, responsible parties can combine with schools and can arrange suitable activities for children to get a proper understanding of the celebration. For example, Sinhala-Hindu new year is a very traditional festival celebrated by many generations of Sri Lankans. During the season, countries' schools instruct children to come to school dressed in ethnic costumes and in the classrooms, together with their teacher they conduct a mock festival similar to the one that was conducted by ancient families. Many valued indigenous festivals are about to get vanished from the world due to less appreciation of these traditions among the young generation. Hence, immediate measures should be taken by the governments to popularize these so that many generations to come can enjoy and value those.