How can the government make sure that people save enough money to live on when they are old?

In recent years, most countries have faced an ageing population and there is a need to resolve the problems attached. Amongst the most emergent issues is the livelihood of the elderly. Due to the fact that this group of people do not earn a stable amount of income, they have to rely predominately on pension or insurance to cover their expenses. It is logical to suggest that people should save up in their early lives so that they can be more proactive in their later years. The most important idea is to educate people in order that people understand how to manage money. This would allow people to manage their finances better at an early age. For this reason, the government should provide lessons in schools to help teach people so they can do this. One benefit of this is that conversations around the subject will be triggered more popularly leading to more actions in saving and enhanced financial intelligence. A drawback to this is that it would obviously take up so much time that some would object to the idea of maintaining that school times should be better allocated to more general knowledge like maths and history. Another suggested measure is that the government can run savings schemes that encourage people to save money. These can involve increasing saving interests or engrossing retirement packages so that young people are motivated to set aside a set amount of their income for bigger returns later on. Though this might be sound the disadvantage of it is also significant due to the fact that businesses will find it hard to apply for a loan since the overall interest rates would have risen accordingly. This means the cash flow in the economy will be stuck and slow down economic growth causing the government to struggle to pay back pensions when its dues. In conclusion, all solutions help to some extent but I would argue that education plays a crucial role in making a difference in changing people towards saving up for rainy days.