Some people believe that the best way to control accidents on city streets is to lower the speed limit, but others think there are better ways to improve the safety on city streets. Discuss both views and give your opinion

A certain segment of the people believe that imposing speed limit is the best way to control road accidents, while the others of the view that there are other measures to curb the situation. This essay hopes to discuss both these view and arrive at a conclusion. In the one hand, speeding is the main cause of accidents on the roads. To explain this further, when a vehicle is speeding, it not only results in losing the diver’s concentration, but also narrows the vision. Thus, stopping the vehicle in an emergency becomes impossible. Speed driving can cause huge disaster in busy streets, since it can damage several properties and human lives at the same time. Hence, I also agree with this sentiment. For instance, if a person caused an accident in a populated Colombo street the damage will be more, rather than happening the same accident on a remote village road. On the other hand, certain segment of the people also argue that speed driving is not the only cause for increase in accidents. They are of the view that using mobile phones while driving and driving under the influence of alcohol are more dangerous than speeding. Thus, having controls on speeding will have no significant impact and should impose strict laws and imposing heavy fines on traffic violations should be the way to curb the situation. However, when compared with other traffic violations speed driving causes the most damage to the human property. Hence, in order to protect the pedestrian lives it is important to have speed limits. Hence, I oppose latter argument. In conclusion, people are having different views on the effectiveness of imposing speed limits to avoid accidents. However, speeding will reduce the concentration and narrows the driver's vision, which can easily cause accidents.