Some people think multiple choice tests are better than tests which require you to write an essay. Other people think that tests which require you to write an essay are better. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In the present age whether multiple-answer tests provide more benefits than open-answer questions has sparked much debate. Some people assert that answering questions in a form of an essay provides the examiner a better outlook on what the students have learned, whereas a vast majority of people believe it is more innovative to hand out a test with more questions. Personally, I am in favor of the first view. The first factor we need to take into consideration is that the open question exams tend to foresee a broader view of a student's knowledge of a certain subject. An open-answer question provides a better outlook on the respondent's level for the teacher that corrects the given test. The vast majority of humans prefer to get an excellent grade rather than a bad mark and the fact that a student's essay answer will be graded motivates them to spend a few hours more studying for the test. For example, if a history exam is coming up next week, a student is more likely to start studying for it earlier and the quality of his knowledge will improve than studying for a test that requires knowing only a date and the name of a historical character. This results in students spending more time learning the material on a deeper level rather than just quickly remembering certain facts about the learnt subject. In contrast, some others may claim that multiple choice questions are more rational because of the time crunch everybody feels. Most of the time students are given a very narrow period to fill out the test questions. This method tests the respondent’s ability to answer quickly without overthinking their choice for too long. Moreover, teachers have a less exhausting time correcting the test answers because they just have to check if the order of the answer letters is correct and they are done. This results in less wasted time and an easier experience for both students and their examiners. In conclusion, I believe that open-answer questions are far better. Although multiple choice tests can be filled out quicker and the correction time can be reduced drastically, essays reveal a realistic view of an individual's knowledge and allow the examiner to evaluate a human being properly.