With growing populations in cities, more and more people live in homes with little or no outdoor spaces. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Because of growing populations in cities, more and more people tend to live in homes without any outdoor spaces like gardens or balconies. This is a feature that can have a major impact in the daily routine. Many, like me, indeed, prefer going out rather than staying at their place because they feel suffocated in their small apartments. Living in a house with little or no outdoor spaces may lead to negative consequences on people ’s behaviour and personality. During the COVID-19 Pandemic, for example, many families were obliged to staying at home because of lockdown. As a result, many people, especially adolescents, began to suffer from different diseases related to the mental health such as disturb of personality, panic attacks and anxiety. However, it has been demonstrated that this cases occurred much more in people who lived in tiny and narrow spaces rather than in families who had the luck to have a garden. There, in fact, during that unprecedented time, people could have a walk and take a breath out of their homes. Activities that have a positive influence on our body and mind. Another downside of not having any outdoor spaces is related to the productivity. As a matter of fact, people who live in small and suffocating spaces tend to be less productive. Productivity, in fact, depends on different factor such as the environment, the people who surround you, the place where you live. Therefore, those who stays in an uncomfortable accommodation, for example most of the students, likely get bad grades which influence and condition their mental health in a continuous cycle. To conclude, I believe that having an house without any garden nor balcony can have a really negative development on people ’s mind especially children and adolescents who are the ones that have more need than anyone of having their spaces.