Some argue that patriotism is the primary cause of wars globally. Others feel that it serves to prevent less ethical politicians from running a country and starting wars. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Before the advent of globalization, patriotism had been regarded as a supreme virtue of a nation. However, as humanity is evolving into a single united world and borders are erased, nationalism is becoming not just obsolete but also, in my opinion, an idea that drives countries against one another. Still, in spite of the tragic past and current wars, there are advocates of patriotism who feel that it actually avoids them. Patriots claim that nationalism prevents less ethical politicians, inclined to start conflicts, from running a country. For example, they could say that globalists in charge of a country could trigger a dispute with other chiefs of state in order to enrich by the profits of military actions. Furthermore, supporters of nationalism believe that patriots would put the country's interests before theirs, and consequently would be more inclined towards warfare. In reality, this claim has no logic because it presumes that globalists are less ethical and because it ignores the fact that humanists are against dividing people. On the other hand, it is often said that patriotism is the main reason behind wars. Accordingly, humanists believe that nationalistic ideals are nowadays a fallacy used by truly less ethical leaders simply to gain more power. That is the case of supremacists who pretend to be patriots but are actually racists imposing their own values over anyone else. Therefore, if there were no beliefs of a nation or race supremacy, a peaceful world would not be a utopia. To conclude, in my opinion, patriotism is indeed the main cause of current international conflicts. Although it was important in the past to preserve citizens from landless barbarians, it has now become barbaric in the context of a globalized world. I can really envision all the people living life in peace if patriotism evolves into humanism.