Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Many believe that people tend to know about a new language only for travelling or working in abroad. However, I strongly agree with those who feel that there have other purposes for learning a foreign language. On the one hand, those who support that travel or work should be the main reasons to learn a foreign language say that when people know a foreign language besides their mothers’ tongue, they might be managed lucrative jobs in another country. For example, last year a report has been published in the daily newspaper that a huge number of labourers go to many countries in the Middle East from Bangladesh with high salaries, and they all have to be passed in the Arabic language. Consequently, learning Arabic is becoming popular day by day among Bangladeshi people to get foreign jobs. In addition, international travellers are increasing around the world, and almost every country is welcoming visitors through their tourism industries. As a result, many people are eager to learn different languages before visiting other countries. On the other hand, in my opinion, the most significant purposes of knowing languages are trading with foreign buyers and introducing to cultures overseas. If individuals fail to communicate properly with foreigners, their businesses could be declined detrimentally. For instance, recently a study has shown that international merchants prefer those traders who are bilingual and can communicate fluently. Furthermore, according to a pool online most of the educated people in the modern era are interested to know the cultural values, traditions, and history of various nations. Therefore, only when individuals will be introduced to outlandish languages, their wisdom will be enhanced elaborately. In conclusion, although the reasons for knowing a foreign language could be visiting new places or working in foreign companies undoubtedly, however, I firmly believe that worldwide business and gathering knowledge should be main the purposes.