Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

It is true to say that larger numbers of children are spending considerable hours on their smartphones compared to the past. This could have various reasons but one major fact is the transformation of the latest technologies. Although a smartphone brings many benefits for children, it has some drawbacks as well. However, in my humble opinion, this could bring both positive and negative development for our newer generations. On the one hand, it cannot be deniable that using a smartphone can open a new learning environment for offspring. For example, during the COVID-19 period, most of them can continue their education through their touch screen devices and social media applications. Moreover, parents also not require to worry about their heir's educational progress because they can track it easily at home. As a result, they do not need to spend a considerable amount of money on their heir's education. On the other hand, experiencing a significant amount of time on mobile devices could lead to some physical and mental problems for youngsters. For instance, we could find multiple contents that are not relevant for a child, and these can impact a child's mindset. In addition, if youngsters enjoy their screens rather than doing physical activities, their bodies may become weaker and less strong. Consequently, this can become serious heart disease and obesity. To conclude, a smartphone has several advantages, it also has dark sides for children. In my opinion, we should apply some regulations to control the usage of smartphones by our new generations. Otherwise, we could definitely occur the above problems as I mentioned earlier.