Libraries are irrelevant in the age of the internet and should not be publicly funded.” Do you agree or disagree?

There is a common thought in the internet generation that believes libraries are not useful anymore thus they should not be funded by governments. I disagree with the statement above because libraries still have documents and resources that can not be found on the web, moreover some libraries are seen as historical gems. Bookshops are living in a crisis due to the creation of the internet and its various online shops. This is making people believe that libraries should not be financially helped anymore. For example, Amazon, nowadays is selling any product a person needs, especially books. In addition, many writers tend to publicise their works through this online platform with the goal of reaching as many readers as possible. As a result, many libraries, especially the smaller ones do not get the publicity they need and they are forced to close. Certain libraries, however, have documents that can not be found on the Internet, so they need to be publicly funded in order to function well. For example, the libraries of the United Nations, are public spaces where are present official documents of the UN chart, and resources that are not available on any website. Furthermore, some libraries represent pieces of art, which in my opinion should be preserved and protected at all costs. To conclude, although is true that the Internet is easing the book business, I disagree that libraries should not be supported by public money because they are places which have still their unique value.