When a country develops its technology, the traditional skills and ways of life die out. It is pointless to try and keep them alive. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is said that technology is unstoppable. Therefore, many believe when a country increases its technological advancements, traditional skills and people ’s customs will become extinct. Nevertheless, I tend to disagree with this expressed opinion. To begin with, technological advancements merely make lives more accessible, and they are not the reason for the extinction of traditions. As an example, my family and I still wear traditional hand-woven clothes, even though we have a modern life. Moreover, people in my province are interested in the local cuisine and use traditional utensils in cooking instead of microwave ovens and contemporary stoves. Another point to consider is the fact that people ’s choice to use technology dramatically influences the existence of traditions and customs. In other words, the number of technological advancements which is embraced by the people and used in their lives would directly impact the implementation of traditional ways of living. For instance, these days in megacities, people don’t have time to spend on conventional foods or using traditional utensils and instruments. Many only intend to enjoy modern technology and stay away from traditional living methods, as they believe these methods are time-wasting and inconvenient. In conclusion, although many believe it is useless to try to preserve traditions and customs, as with the development of technology in a country traditional methods and ways of living would fade away, from my perspective, keeping traditional methods and customs is up to us, as we decide how much to embrace the tectological life or traditional one. Moreover, preserving traditional customs is by no means ‘pointless’, as people can have access to technology and have a modern life and still be interested in traditional skills in many ways.