If you could study a subject you have never had the opportunity to study, what would you choose? Explain your choise, using specific reasons and details.

There are some things in life we’re curious about, but because the path we choose doesn’t go through that way, we never really get to learn much about it. In my case, it’s languages! I have always wanted to study more seriously different languages like Italian, Russian, German, and many more, but because I followed the scientific field of knowledge, I never had that chance. In this essay, I will explain the reasons and talk you through the ins and outs of this choice. As a native Portuguese speaker, my first encounter with a different language was when I was in primary school and started to learn some basic English. I remember I loved to sing all those songs about human body parts, animals, lullabies, etc. Furthermore, it was an incredible feeling when later there were some English pop songs on the radio and I could sing along too, despite missing the majority of the words. Throughout my school time I also learned some French, which was very helpful on my holidays at French speaking countries and some Spanish, as I didn’t know if I would end up in a Spanish University. Many languages are missing in my “Curriculum” and I would like very much to improve the ones I have already started to learn as it’s very handy whatever you may go, it allows you to understand many things that are happening in other parts of the world and to communicate with a wider range of people. I would definitely love to learn proper Italian, as well as Russian and German, European languages that I have never studied. In conclusion, if there was a subject just about learning several languages in every school year, I would definitely subscribe and try to be the first in class.