research indicates that the characterisitcs we are born with have much more influence on our personality and development than any experiences we may have in our life. Which do you consider to be the major influence?

Many scholars point out that the behaviour and attributes of a person are greatly influenced by genes themselves more than the endeavours and occurrences that happened in one's life. In my personal viewpoint, both innate components and life experiences are factors that equally contribute to the intellect, manners or actions of a person. In this essay, I intend to discuss both arguments and support my views. According to Gregor Mendel, a gene is the basic unit of heredity passed from parent to child. This means that some of the characteristics of a person have has a big possibility that will be passed on to their offspring. There are a lot of studies that support this theory. Take our own families as an example. If a father can sing, 50% or even 100% of his children can probably sing too. Some known geniuses may have handed down their intellect to their offspring or even to the next generation of their families, On the other hand, we cannot deny the fact that life experiences also have a major contribution to our behavioural and mental patterns. The people around us can affect how we act and interact with other individuals. In addition to that, the previous occurrence such as major issues at work or in the family made us stronger and more knowledgeable. Studying which is not present at the time we were born considerably plays a part in our cognitive enhancement. To put it in a nutshell, I pen down saying that it is indeed true that genes have a huge impact on our personality. But it is indubitable to say that life occurrences and past experiences also play an important role in moulding our personalities.