Nowadays people around the world are choosing to self-medicate rather than seeing a doctor and using conventional medicine. What are the causes of this change and what effects can be seen as a result

It is irrefutable to say that nowadays, it is common that a large number of people decline to consult a doctor and prefer self-medication or home remedies to treat their illnesses. There are a lot of reasons for this phenomenon. This essay aims to explore factors influencing this problem and run through some of its effects. Healthcare is one of the most important basic commodities that a person should have. Unfortunately, there are only a few individuals who receive proper health check-ups and choose to self-medicate. One of the prime reasons is the cost of hospitalization. Bills in the hospital and the cost of the medications are too high, which is why a lot of individuals belonging to the middle and low-income classes choose not to see a physician and try to make some remedies at home or take over-the-counter medicines to help them ease the pain and irritation. Another reason is the lack of hospitals in a specific area. For example in the Philippines, there are a number of provinces that do not have a tertiary hospital. For them to be treated, patients have to travel miles away from their barrio just to consult a doctor. The effects of this phenomenon are mostly negative. The mortality rate will surely increase because patients who are not able to receive proper treatment and medication could get their diseases to make worse which may lead to death. In addition to that, the country's economic growth will get affected since a lot of people cannot work properly. Take COVID-19 as an example. We experienced a global crisis during the peak of the pandemic because a lot of establishments were shut down due to health risks. To put it in a nutshell, I pen down saying that, a lot of people especially the low-income ones prefer to self-medicate because of the cost of medication and hospitalization. Increased death rates and economic crises are just some of the negative effects of this phenomenon.