Some argue today that schools are no longer necessary because children can learn so much from the internet and be educated at home. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Is it argued today that schools are no longer important since children can learn from the internet and be taught at home. This mode of learning was introduced back from the start of pandemic, particularly Covid virus infestation, which paved way for convenient education at home and at the same time, securing the safety of children. However, various crucial aspects of a child’s mental and social development were being neglected. In the forthcoming paragraphs, I will point out that learning in schools is still the best and effective way of receiving quality education than having it at home. The fun way of face-to-face learning in schools will not be that same in virtual lectures at home. One thing that can help a child in retaining knowledge is a motivating environment which is not possible in a home study. And without stimulation from a lively environment, eagerness to learn will not be felt and boredom will overpower. Also, active participation as well as active listening is limited in online classes. For instance, everyone wants to speak but not all is given the chance because of the limited time. Conflicts on geographical side arise in the practice of online classes, that it is limited and not even feasible in some rural areas. Internet connection varies from one location to another. And most of the time, it is not yet installed in remote areas. In fact, not all people living in far flung areas have electricity to start with. And since life there is impoverished, people are more on survival than on embracing modernization in the way of education. On the other hand, the convenience of learning at home that is attained through virtual classes helped families in such ways that it can save them time and effort. With the availability of online classes, children can stay and learn at home with their parents. In this mode of education, parents can be hands-on in guiding their children through their modules thus foster quality family time. In conclusion, children attaining education through internet at home facilitates comfort and bonding among families; however, quality of learning is lessened with limitations such as an environment not conducive for learning and unavailability of internet resources due to location constraints in isolated areas. And with these struggles, a child’s learning and social needs are being restricted.