Some people believe that giving longer prison sentences is the best way to reduce crime. Others believe that there are better ways to reduce crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

According to the world scenario, people who do criminal activities are tended to be given punishments no matter what type of illegal activity. Some people hold the view that giving prison punishments for a longer time of period is a better way to reduce criminal activities. However, opponents believe that there are numerous ways to solve this issue. The following essay will elaborate on both of the topics with my opinion. To begin with, in the contemporary world many people are given life-long punishments according to the unlawful acts they have done. Sometimes, penalizing the individual is done for making them good citizens in the future or for the consequence of their actions. As an example, if a person kills another human he or she is given the death sentence or to be prisoned until their life. Thus, this will convey a message or an important lesson to society that if you do any unlawful act in the future the repercussions will be serious, therefore these actions will reduce crimes. On the other hand, there are a plethora of ways to reduce criminal activities according to the actions that a particular person has done. To exemplify, if an individual starts bulging or stealing the disciplinary procedure should be minimized as a life-long death sentence should not be appropriate for that person. Hence, penalizing or fining these people can be one good method to avoid crime. Furthermore, drug dealers or drug-addicted people can be put into rehabilitation centres so that their minds will eventually stop the violated actions in the future. To conclude, I partially agree with both of the viewpoints because to reduce crime the authorities should punish according to the level of crime individuals have done and convey a message to the society that in future crimes will be eventually reduced.