social media is becoming increasingly popular among all age groups. However, sharing personal information on social media does have risks. Do the advantages of social media outweigh the disadvantages?

While People from all age groups are showing more tendency towards social media, putting up personal information on online websites is not a safe option. In my view, the usage of social media can have some benefits. This is not to say that it has many hazards, but brings opportunities for people to access conveniently updated news and communicate easily from all over the world which is really beneficial. Therefore, the pros of using social media surpass its cons. In this regard, I will examine such opinion in detail as follows:  There are many advantages to online platforms. Firstly, it keeps people abreast of local and global events. This is to say that it helps users to stay up-to-date with the latest news. Most people depend more on digital platforms for cutting-edge news rather than buying ordinary newspapers as they are more updated and can easily be reached at any time. Secondly, social media help people to get in touch with each other wherever they are and without any effort or wasting time. For example, if you have a friend in another country, you can communicate with each other at any time. Finally, with such mentioned positive points, negative points can be overlooked. Conversely, there are some drawbacks to social media since they put user’s life at risk. In other words, because online websites ask for personal information, it would lead to many security problems. for instance, people are under threat of being robbed by hackers through the usage of such websites. In spite of this, the advantages of online media are more than their disadvantages. To sum up, although the safety of online platform users might be in danger, benefits such as connecting those who are far from each other and its up-to-date features make it reliable to use.