Many people believe that today there is a general increase in anti-social behavior and lack of respect for others. What might have caused this situation? How to improve it.

In modern society, it is considered that there is substantial growth in anti-social and disrespectful behaviour. This essay will elucidate the main reason for this dilemma and will suggest some solutions to ameliorate the situation. To begin with, ego and selfishness are increasing in society which introduces the trend of less respect for others. To be more specific, parents are playing dual breadwinner roles, consequently, they are not able to teach moral values to their offspring moreover, there is no supervision while watching tv and social media. In addition to it, there is a trend of nuclear families due to which youngsters are living away from their grandparents. For instance, people in European societies are more introverted than in Eastern countries where older parents are living separately. furthermore, the competitive environment among the students is another big issue. Nowadays, educational institutes are only focusing on studies rather than educating moral values and respectful behaviours. For instance, according to a survey, the institutes which give high academic rather than high ethical behaviours results is considered the best institute of the time. Admittedly, there can be numerous solutions to improve these social issues. First and foremost, the family structure should be changed and it should be reverted to a joint family system. Apart from that, parents should be used a proactive approach for children using social media. Last but not least, colleges and schools should also pay attention to character building. To exemplify, according to a survey in Indonesia, there is an event of washing mothers’ feet at school to commemorate the honour and respect of mothers; such positive activities can not only revive respect but also remind the value of social gatherings. To conclude, weighing the above factors, anti-social issues and lack of irrespective behaviour can be dealt with by changing the family infrastructure and school education system.