Some people think history has nothing or little to tell us, but others think that studying the past history can help us better understand the present. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In contemporary society, there are two flows of opinion when discussing history: one claims that it has nothing or little to present, while the other believes that acknowledging the past history can enhance the present. During the course of this essay, I would like to deliberate on both views and give my opinion. Obviously, people nowadays treasure the present rather than keep digging into the past. Therefore, history tends to receive ignorance since it has nothing to do with the present. Personally, I do not think that learning about the ancestors' fights for territories over several years is an educational lesson. In addition, tons of wars around the world have been recorded and published, and most of the purposes were similar to each other. Consequently, history indeed cannot tell anything either to us or the present. On the contrary, every coin has two sides. History can give the best explanation for a nation’s manners and customs. It can also answer some of the decisions made by our ancestors. Furthermore, it is necessary for youngsters to have a clear overview of their origin in order to show respect and be proud of where they come from. In fact, the past history could benefit and add up to the government’s budget, especially from the tourism industry. Every tour guide needs a wide range of knowledge about history to share with foreign visitors and introduce to international friends. In conclusion, I would say it depends on the individual's perspective that either the past history has something or nothing to tell in modern days.