Scientists believe that in order to protect the environment, people must use less energy in their daily lives. However, most people have not changed the way they live. Why do you think many people have not taken individual action? What could be done to encourage them to take action?

There has been an unprecedented utilization of energy, especially in day-to-day activities. Scientists have claimed that in order to protect the environment, it is essential to put a stop to these activities. Society has sadly, neglected the impact caused thereby not changing their behaviour. I will elucidate why individuals do not take action at a personal level and what can be done to inculcate good practices in them. Firstly, in my opinion, citizens are extremely preoccupied. They solely focus on their work, for example. If a person is always engaged at work, they are not in touch with reality. They do not read the newspapers as a consequence. Since they do not know about current affairs, the question of taking action does not arise. Secondly, people are selfish. In India, during the festival of Diwali, Indians burn firecrackers. Conspicuously, they are self-interested. They are not only hesitating to act in a certain way to prevent environmental hazards but are acting against them. Although things might seem to be impossible to fix, there are a few practices that every individual can unanimously follow. People should take an effort to learn innovative concepts on how to sustain non-renewable energy sources. To illustrate, they can install solar panels on their rooftops instead of using gas. In this way, they are able to harness energy without depleting it. Furthermore, government authorities should make environmental studies a compulsory subject. If students learn and understand the problems faced, they will eventually become more empathetic toward the environment. They will protect it, as a result. To sum up, if the guidelines for how to conserve energy are strictly followed, we will definitely be one step ahead in the quest to protect our country.