Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish. Why do you think this is happening? What can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced?

It is an undeniable fact that these days, a lot of waste is produced. In my view, there could be multiple reasons behind this issue. However, some radical measures need to be taken by the government to tackle with it. One of the major reasons for the garbage production is the increased population. What I mean by this is that, according to statistics, there has been observed a significant growth in the number of people over the last few decades and because of this rise, the consumption of things, particularly disposable items, is increased to a much larger extent which leads to the production of rubbish. Baby diapers and Styrofoam products, for example, are now widely used all over the globe and they are just thrown away into waste bins once they are consumed. Thus, these items contribute to producing more rubbish. This problem could be addressed by recycling synthetic goods in a proper way, in order to utilize them in making other necessary things such as electricity. Take china, for instance, who has become one of the biggest importer of garbage, is utilizing it in order to generate power for its residents. Another causative factor behind this issue is the industrialization. To put it more clearly, nowadays, numerous giant manufacturers, for illustration Unilever, are arrived into the business market which are focusing to compete with each other by extending their manufacturing to a large scale in order to achieve ‘economies of scale’. Consequently, this fact forces these organizations to contribute to increasing garbage because the greater the manufacturing is, the greater the by-product is produced. To tackle with this issue, the government must bound that these major companies to dispose their wastes properly and make sure that if a carefully dumping by burying them into the earth instead of draining into the oceans, is carried out. To sum up, I hold the view that the rising production of rubbish can be controlled by taking different effective measures by the authorities such as proper recycling and dumping.