In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a postive or negative development?

In their visual and printed promotions, these days organisations generally stress that their commodities are innovative in any manner. This essay will first discuss how such announcements boost sales which as a result promotes consumerism and is adverse progress, followed by a conclusion. By putting emphasis on the novelty of their goods, companies are able to boost sales and are able to stay ahead of their competitors. No matter what a company sells there will always be a thousand more similar commodities in the market. However, to stand out in the crowd such public announcements are made and the hype is created as a result the consumers are attracted to buy them due to the newly introduced feature of some sort even if it is minute. For example, the iPhone a smartphone of Apple Incorporation in spite of making minimal changes to its camera and design was able to increase its revenue by 50 per cent in 2020 as per Bloomberg reported figures, due to the intense marketing and advertisements campaigns across social and print media. This extreme highlight on the minimally improved product is promoting consumerism which is a pessimistic approach. When individuals can keep using the old possessions, they are induced to believe that what they are currently using is obsolete and a change would be better. This is why they buy goods that they do not need but just because are of the view that they will be up to date by buying a slightly new version of anything. For example, in 2021, a survey conducted by Forbes showed that 90 per cent of iPhone users claimed they pre-book the next one in the generation every year to make sure they do not miss out on the changes made, even though they know that their old phones serve the same purpose. In conclusion, the enterprises put added stress on their promotional content about the modifications made to their item in a particular manner which as an outcome invites individuals to keep purchasing things they do not need, which makes it a wrong process.