The age of information technology has taken a lot of people by surprise. While it has become a way of life for some, others know very little about it and may be unlikely to learn. Eventually, we will have a polarized society and this will lead to serious social problems.

In the modern world of today, we have to face new technologies on a daily basis. Although this might be easy for the generations already born in this atmosphere, for others, and especially elder people, it might be quite overwhelming. Some people think that this divergence will bring important social issues in the future. I somewhat disagree with this statement, as more and more elderly start to deal properly with matters related to Information Technology (IT). It is often said that some people will never learn how to face these modernness, while others (me included), think it’s just a matter of time until everyone has the basic know-how when it comes to IT. In spite of being more difficult at an advanced age to change old habits and learn from the start completely new and complex things, it is a necessity nowadays that everyone has the skills to manage a computer, a smartphone, etc. As a doctor myself, I studied that the cerebral plasticity of an older person in no way resembles that of a young child. Nonetheless, the cognitive capacity is there and they can still learn more or less quickly. As an example, my grandfather works in his computer every day, even if it’s just for sending and seeing his emails. He has adapted to this new era and so have many of his mates. Hence, I think there is a downward trend to a polarized society in terms of managing technology. Having said that, I don’t think there’s going to be serious social problems due to this in the future. Moreover, there’s always somebody to help the ones who still trouble with the use of technology. On balance, while some people think it might be a huge issue that not all people master IT, as far as I’m concerned, that won’t be the case, since it will become the new normal to everyone in a near future.