It is argued that parents of children who break the law should be punished as they are responsible for their children's actions. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A popular debate topic among the masses is whether the guardian of the child is accounted for punishment for the wrongdoings of their ward. While this topic is very sensitive, I agree parents are responsible to make or break their children’s life. Let me explain my position in the below essay. Firstly, any newborn parents are the first teachers, and they have a herculean task to teach values, tradition, culture, respect etcetera to them. In addition school teachers also have a responsibility, but the major part of information and knowledge sharing starts from home. There will be many instances where a child will cry or be stubborn to get something which he desires, without bending down to the pressure, first the demand needs to analyze and then a decision needs to be taken whether it is really required or not. A common household example is when demand is made from younger ones for Mobile phones and we all know what the majority of us do. Moreover, teenagers nowadays will not listen to instructions and experiences shared by their mother or father and will get into trouble which starts with keeping the bad company of friends, late-night parties and getting intoxicated illegally. In addition, there are examples where guns were carried to schools which have resulted in mass shootings in educational institutes. The responsibility completely lies with parents to keep a watch on the activities of their children until they get matured. For any misdeeds done by schoolgoers, parents do share a lion's share of the crime committed. To conclude, parents should be punished when kids break the law, I also propose a holistic approach from society. I reckon with one old Indian formula "Love them till the age of 6, Be strict till the age of 16, and Be friends for a lifetime."