nowadays many people choose to be self employed rather than to work for a company or organization. why might this be the case? what could be the disadvantage of being self employed?

These days, numerous people opt to be employees independently rather than to work for an institution or firm. The major reasons for this are the flexible working environment and poor salary packages in companies. Although there are merits for freelancers, there are some drawbacks also such as the unlimited working hours and unpredicted obstacles. To begin with, individuals who graduated from high-ranking universities select their careers as a freelancer because of the flexibility in time and working space. To clarify, a self-employed person has the platform to work according to his/her free time at any place. In addition, they can enjoy their life without fear of authorities, long time work struggle, target achievement pressure, etcetera. Furthermore, the qualified individuals who worked in some organizations fought to meet their ends with their salaries and were forced to move to self-employment. On top of that, there are companies without adequate insurance policies and reimbursement if there is a medical emergency for their workers. For instance, there are a plethora of private school teachers in my country, who are not only struggling with their insignificant salary package but also they are uninsured. Despite these advantages of a self-employed person, there are some disadvantages too. Of the many demerits, the first one is the boundless working time. To elaborate, if an individual is working by himself/herself, that person can choose the time accordingly. As a result, there is a chance to work more without giving priority to the family or health. To illustrate, a study conducted by Business students at MG University, Kerala, depicted that 47% of freelancers are working overtime and suffering from some or other kinds of deficiencies. Moreover, working independently may face shocking barriers in their way and it might result in a shortage of income. To be precise, there are chances to face obstacles by freelancers and it may be hard to overcome the situation. In conclusion, having discussed the merits and demerits of self-employment, I infer that the disadvantages outweigh the advantages. Hence, it is hopeful that companies and organizations will take adequate measures to hold back their smart employees and qualified individuals will take prudent decisions in their careers in the days to come.