The high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising but not the real need of the society where such products are sold. What is your opinion on this ?

Advertising is a major part of marketing and promotion. It is a primary form by which organizations introduce myriad products among consumers, lure them to buy those commodities and also increase sales and attain a profit. Critics of advertising argue that this is the only approach to increase sales, inducing customers to purchase what they do not need in their daily life. I strongly support this notion as it is self-evident. In the next few,paragraphs I will discuss this statement in detail. Advertisements tend to create a false perspective among the consumers that the latter are in need of certain commodities which in fact, won't be necessary at all. This behaviour is depicted especially in the marketing of medicines, dietary supplements and life-enhancing products. folks are manipulated and often make wrong decisions and as a result falls prey to these techniques. For example, energy drinks like Horlicks,Boost etc. are sold mainly for athletes and bodybuilders, but the marketing is done in such a manner that the regular populace purchases them thinking that they have problems such as malnutrition and use them extensively. Advertising is also successful in creating unnecessary hype for a newly marketed product. As a result, it is quite ubiquitous for individuals to purchase such items in order to become a part of a fad. For instance, the public often purchases new models of smartphones and discards their old ones even though they are in good working condition. Advertising spurs them to do so. In this,way advertisers also misuse their power of advertising. Although,advertisements are great in spreading awareness about the latest commodities and products often they divert from their main purpose and create a hole in the pocket. To summarize, society needs to be aware of the negative influence of advertisements as they can sometimes lead people towards the wrong trajectory and lead to unwanted expenses as well as insensible decisions.