Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation” What might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

It is said that in this day and age, enormous individuals tend to be freelancers or establish their own businesses instead of working in the office. There are various factors that lead to this phenomenon, and also being self-employed might suffer from some drawbacks which will be discussed in this essay. First and foremost, it is true that the flexibility of schedule encourages excessive people to choose freelance jobs. As we all know, full-time jobs have fixed commission hours while entrepreneurs or self-employed do not as they can choose their tasks and plan their routine without any restriction. For instance, freelancers can spend more time with their families, especially those who have children, as well as, explore their interests, such as playing tennis or doing handicrafts. It reveals that a fixed occupation provides the utmost flexibility in the timetable, and thus ensures the crowd have enough free time to unwind a bit and strike the work-life balance. Nevertheless, it is undeniable that there are two harms to a freelancer. First of all, unstable income is one of the worries. It is clear that we require a salary to maintain our standard of living, by contrast, setting up a business might not secure whether you can earn ginormous profit. For example, some businesses suffer from a loss due to wrong decision-making, which depicts that it is hard to determine how much an entrepreneur can gain per month. In addition, this creates a work-life unbalance due to the lack of separation between the workplace and home. It is inevitable that freelancers usually have home-office, in other words, they tend to work in their homes. Separating the living areas and working locations might cause the loss of sense of off-duty. For instance, a freelance writer spent more than 9 hours writing each day, which has a longer commission time than normal officers. As a result, people are unable to maintain a proper work-life balance. In a nutshell, the flexible working moment creates a push force to becoming self-employed, however, unstable salary and work-life unbalance are some disadvantages due to the quit of a stable job.