Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organization. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

These days, it's obvious that many people want to work for themselves, not for a company. There are several reasons why, and also some downsides of being self-employed as well. Why many people prefer to be independent of a company? One of the biggest reasons is the money you earn. If you belong to a company or organization, there is a limit to the salary you receive in most cases. When you make a special achievement or extra sales revenue, you might have some bonus or compensation. But it's mostly impossible for you to get 100% of them in return. If you are self-employed, even though you have to spend some money on management, you can earn money as much as you work. The other reason is your freedom to lead work with your own creativity or personality. In my case, I sometimes suggest implementing more creative, aggressive and fun marketing campaigns targeting younger people in my team. But sometimes, it's not approved as my company has a premium identity with conservative executives. So, if you are self-employed, you can try new projects with your own creativity and responsibility. ​ Then, what are the bad sides of being self-employed? The biggest factor is stability. If you are employed by a company or organization, the worst thing that could happen to you might be losing a job even if the company is bankrupted. Or, sometimes if you are a public work or work for a bigger company, it is not easy to get fired because you are protected by the law or labour unions. For instance, my company can't fire employees under the lever of a manager. So, if you own your business, you have to take the risk of your own bankruptcy or financial breakdown. ​In conclusion, it's obvious that being self-employed gives you lots of benefits and freedom. But at the same time, it is important to remember that freedom is not free.