Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foregin country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Nowadays, speaking in languages other than the native one is a necessity. There are different views about why people become bilingual or multilingual. While some believe that the motivation to this trend is travelling or working in another countries, others consider that those are not sufficient reasons. In my opinion, it happens as languages privilege us with the ability to communicate with different communities and cultures. On the one hand, it is undeniable that if a person speaks a certain language of a country, he will be able to live in it and be allowed to have a job and travel easily there. In modern life, many countries require individuals who are applying for jobs in it to communicate efficiently with the first language of it. For example, English speaking countries accept employees who are certified with IELTS or TOEFL. Not only the professional life, but also travelling to foreign countries needs the person to know how to speak with native citizens fluently to manage his daily activities including leisure, transportations, and food. Therefore, travelling and working are two major reasons to use different languages. On the other hand, distant communication and learning can motivate individuals to be bilinguals or multilinguals. Recently, there is no need to be physically attending meetings or courses in remote areas, but understanding other people with different tongues is necessary. For this reason, persons are eager to learn more languages. Additionally, people will be able to recognize countries they are interested in when they read about them in books or magazines written in the native language. Thus, other factors can contribute to learning other languages. In conclusion, many causes can push the individuals to be fluent in foreign languages. They are ranging from travel purposes, education, and working. However, the debate regarding which is the primary will continue.