•In some countries, some of the criminal cases in the low courts are shown on the television, so that the general public can watch them

There is no denying the fact that publishing criminal cases on tv is always arguable. While it is commonly held belief that penalties should be heard by the public, other people see that some cases need to stay private. This essay will discuss the benefits and disadvantages of showing trials on television. Firstly, the main goal for every government is limiting the number of crimes in the society, and one of the successful methods is to inform the large public about the danger of every act and its penalty, that is why tv presents the best device, another point is the possibility for the victims and their families to follow their cases at home which make them feel more secure and give to the trials more transparency. Second of all, there are also several disadvantages, as an example, every criminal has an innocent family behind him, publishing his case which could be a simple mistake, means publishing also his identity, which guarantees to the whole family a bad reputation inside the community. Moreover, the fact of showing a criminal’s identity could present a real danger for his social entourage by someone who tries to revenge. To conclude, many countries see that citizens have the right of assisting criminal cases, although, this act has its advantages and its challenges, which is the reason why governments need to select carefully what they publish and take the necessary measures for that.