Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

Nowadays, speaking in languages other than the native one is a necessity. There are different views about why people become bilingual or multilingual. While some believe that the motivation for this trend is travelling or working in other countries, others consider that those are not sufficient reasons. In my opinion, it happens as languages privilege us with the ability to communicate with different communities and cultures. On the one hand, it is undeniable that if a person speaks a certain language of a country, he will be able to live in it and be allowed to have a job and travel easily there. In modern life, many countries require individuals who are applying for jobs in it to communicate efficiently in the first language of it. For example, English-speaking communities accept employees who are certified with IELTS or TOEFL. Not only professional life, but also travelling to a foreign country requires the person to know how to speak with native citizens fluently to manage his daily activities including leisure, transportation, and food. Therefore, travelling and working are two major reasons to use different tongues. On the other hand, distant communication and learning can motivate individuals to be bilingual or multilingual. Recently, there is no need to physically attend meetings or courses in remote areas, but understanding other societies with different tongues is necessary. For this reason, people are eager to learn more languages. Additionally, individuals will be able to recognize countries they are interested in when they read about them in books or magazines written in their native language. Thus, other factors can contribute to learning other languages. In conclusion, many causes can push individuals to be fluent in foreign languages including travel purposes, education, and work. However, the debate regarding which is the primary will continue.