Many say that international students should reside in university dormitories while others think shared community housing is better. What are the advantages of both? Which approach do you favour? Give reasons and examples to support your answer.

When it comes to starting university, the student should consider living in a dorm room or homestay, some people think staying in dormitories is the best option, however, other people should live in community housing. In this essay I will explore both options and try to convince you that dormitories are the best. On the one hand, staying in a dorm room is a good choice for a new student. Firstly, you can get closer to your friends from school, and do not need to wake up as early, compared to those living outside of campus. Also, living on campus does not have any transportation problems or accidents happening, which means saving money, time and safety. For example, when I was living in a dorm room I could wake up 30 minutes before class started, I was not worried about bad weather and parking was not ever an issue. On the other hand, some people want to stay in community housing, and be free to come and go as they please and to have private space to focus on what they want to do. In addition, students need to prepare themself for everything, meet new friends and connect with people. Another example, I needed to learn how to cook food, which means going to the grocery store buying all ingredients and turning it into a meal. In summary, staying in dormitories is a good choice if you are new in the area and want to save money during your time at school, living in a dormitory is a great start to your life in university.