In some parts of the world traditional festivals and celebrations have disappeared or are disappearing. Why is this happening? What measures could be taken to ensure they do not disappear?

Conventional cultural celebrations are an integral part of any culture. They, in some countries, are seen diminishing. This essay will discuss the cause of this trend and some solutions that may curb the situation. The key reason for this decreasing interest within the community for such celebrations has been the burden caused by them. The reason for this is that it needs more preparation, space and funds. For instance, Chinese New Year celebrations comprises of many processions which cause severe traffic jams in busy streets, let alone the heavy cost of preparation including those to costumes. Even this more then 4000 years old traditional festival is not widely celebrated due to tis reason. Moreover, the meeting friends and relatives had been the most important part of any cultural celebrations. Nowadays, all lead busy lifestyles and contacting their families and friends are done on the go using their mobile phones. Therefore, meeting up them in a cultural festival is not a requirement any more. However, these long-established festivals are an important aspect of local cultures and therefore, should not be abandoned. This demands the involvement of governments and wider community who could take initiatives to address the root causes of peoples lethargy towards these festivities. Communities, for instance, can change the processions to have them in a large stadium rather than having them on the streets. The governments can extend their support by providing funds and facilities to hold them in a closed space. These steps would cause the continuity of these traditional events. In conclusion, long established cultural festivities are ignored worldwide and governments and communities could make some contributions to maintain these traditions without being died.