Some people think that youngsters should be required to do unpaid work helping people in the community. Are disadvantages of this requirement greater than the benefits for the community and individuals?

The young generation is an important asset for any nation. There are people who hold the opinion that young people should not pay remuneration for providing services to society. I believe that this trend has more merits than demerits. There are several advantages for young people if they have started helping individuals in society. To begin with, this will encourage the youth to enhance their self-confidence. They have started interacting with various groups of people and take active participation in community work building self-confidence among the youngsters. Secondly, from the employers' perspective, these people are ready to work in a corporate environment as they have prior experience. These youngsters could perform better in their job and have great communication skills than the freshers from the market. Moreover, prior knowledge of work in the same field enhances the opportunity for employment and at the beginning of their carrier, they can earn a good pay scale which motivates them to perform excellently in their job. The creativity of younger people could improve while participating in such events. There are people who claim that this trend would hamper the development of teenagers, as they are constantly engaging in such events causing poor academic performance. However, if they utilise the time appropriately this issue can be resolved. In conclusion, I believe that if youngsters are helping the community free of cost would help bothsociety and individuals. There would be less crime in society as youngsters are working.